Auricle Ink Publishers - Consumer education is our passion


Please request
wholesale pricing



2014 Reviews

“This is the book to get if you’re struggling with hearing loss—accessible and detailed—absolutely indispensable! When people ask me where they can go to learn about hearing loss, this is the first place I’ll tell them.”
     —Richard Einhorn, renowned composer (Voices of Light), record producer (Yo-Yo Ma; New York Philharmonic), film composer (Dead of Winter), AND hearing loss advocate. (

“This book is clear guidance for individuals with hearing loss as they begin their transformative journey to better hearing and an improved quality of life.”
     —Erin L. Miller, Au.D.,  President, 2014, Amer. Acad. of Audiology; Professor, Univ. of Akron

The Consumer Handbook on Hearing Loss and Hearing Aids: A Bridge to Healing
Richard E. Carmen, Au.D., Editor, Third Edition (2009)

Reviewer: Lorraine Gailey, Chief Executive, Hearing Concern LINK, Eastbourne, East Sussex, UK, published in ENT-News, March/2010: This book is targeted specifically at people living with hearing loss. It achieves the almost-impossible: it is as interesting and relevant to readers who are just becoming aware of a hearing loss as to those who have decades of experience. It is also, however, a useful handbook for professionals, and not just because we can hand it out to the 'resistant' or 'difficult' patient. It reminds us clearly and without drama that while we have an essential part to play in helping our patients meet the challenges of hearing loss, our part will always be but one of the many they need for their whole answer.

    This is an edited book whose contributors are all highly respected in their field and the various chapters are of a uniformly high standard. Topics include understanding the impact of hearing loss, the emotions associated with altered hearing, tinnitus, listening skills, audiology and audiograms, and the potential of today's technology.

    While there is some overlap between chapters, the duplication tends only to strengthen the book's main messages: that hearing loss need not limit lifestyle; that technology can offer solutions to many problems if used well; and that the responsibility for achieving the best outcomes rests firmly with the individual through their willingness to change their own attitudes and behaviours. Many of the contributors have hearing loss themselves, sharing mot only their professional knowledge, but also their constructive approach to changing the world around them.

    The book's only shortcoming to a UK readership is that because it is American, some of the specifics in a few chapters are largely irrelevant (for example, telephony, assistive devices and organizations). The vast majority of the content, however, is as pertinent and valuable to readers in the UK as in the USA or indeed anywhere at all.

— from: 2009: Carmen begins with the discussion of a powerful experiment he does with his graduate students. He makes them all wear ear plugs for an entire day. As you can imagine they all experience a sense of frustration, yet to the surprise of many, they also feel depression.

    Using this insightful opening as a spring board, Carmen goes on to discuss the common self-protective trait of hearing loss denial. He points out that once someone is told they have hearing damage that can not be reversed, a very common reaction to help one deal with the news is hearing loss denial...The news of hearing loss and the need for hearing aids can strike one's ego and Carmen does a great deal of addressing this issue in his book.

    His book has a robust amount of information relating to the psychology of hearing loss and hearing aids and is a great tool for anyone who has lost their hearing or anyone with a family member in that position. In addition, Carmen provides some hands-on tools to help hearing aid users, including a self-diagnostic test and information on where to find help if it seems that you need it.

    We recommend The Consumer Handbook on Hearing Loss and Hearing Aids -- A Bridge to Healing. This is the work of one of the industries' best minds in Richard Carmen. This book is worth purchasing and reading.

Reviewer: Lee Micken, Au.D., Micken Hearing Services, Bozeman, MT: 2009: I just wanted to pass along a compliment.  I had a young-ish 50-something lady in a couple of weeks ago who was very open about her resistance to and anxiety about getting hearing aids.  She's a nurse, and is familiar w/ "denial." After her consultation she scheduled an appt. for a follow-up visit w/me so she could "think about" her options.  I gave her this book to read in the meantime, and the first thing she said to me when I saw her next time is how well written the book was. She read "the whole thing" and felt "the tone" of it was just perfect....informative, but written in a compassionate way that she could understand, but she hadn't felt "preached to." 

    I continue to congratulate you on such a great mission (educating the consumer and helping the "in the trenches" audiologists with the critical counseling aspect), and such a highly professional and effective job of getting the message across. Customer Reviews First and Second Editions
The Consumer Handbook on Hearing Loss and Hearing Aids: A Bridge to Healing 


Let's Hear it for this Book (Second Edition)! July 11, 2007 bBobby McMillen "Bob" (Oakland, CA USA): What a book this is! When I found out that I was going to need hearing aids I was thrilled and scared to death. How was this really going to change my life? Well this book (both editions) helped ease my fears. With the group of experts that the author brings together many questions are answered and one realizes that they are not alone. One thing that I found was that although the second edition was improved, some of the articles in the first edition that were deleted from the second was very helpful also; Great book(s)!

Excellent guide to overcoming Hearing Loss fears!, February 14, 2005: This book covers so many topics in such an empathetical way -- extremely well written. This book will help you if you know you are losing your hearing and are downright scared/nervous about seeking help. Understanding the hearing loss is important. This is not just for the person who has suffered hearing lose and needs help, but also for the rest of the family who needs to support and help as well. This book really cannot go recommended enough! Some of the greatest scientists/audiologists that there is have come together to share in good basic English to help. Exceptional!!

A goldmine of information for the hard of hearing, April 18, 2001 by  D. Myers (Holland, MI United States): Kudos to clinical audiologist Richard E Carmen for assembling this all-star cast of experts. I found this affordable, accessible volume to be loaded with interesting and practical information for us hard of hearing. Audiologists and scientists discuss the psychology and management of hearing loss, and new hearing technologies, and answer lots of questions: What causes ringing in the ears? How do aging, drugs, and noise affect hearing? What are the varieties of hearing aids now available? What cool new hearing assistance technologies might improve my life?

A BOOK THAT'S MAKING A DIFFERENCE, March 21, 1999 I personally read this book as a practicing audiologist and was impressed by the breadth of material covered in such down-to-earth terms and easy-to-read format. I wasn't sure if I was alone in my feelings regarding how beneficial I thought it would be for my patients, so I ordered multiple copies and began using them in my clinical practice. I can now honestly say that this book has changed the way I conduct my practice, becoming an integral part of my hearing aid dispensing process. Patients love it. It prepares them for what to expect, and family members can reap an equal harvest by understanding the feelings their loved ones are going through. As technology advances at a rapid rate, this book, and its subsequent revisions, will assist any hard of hearing person and their family. It hit's a bullseye!

Big Marks for its Thoroughness, Humor & Clarity, January 12, 1999
Carmen and his writers keep it simple and explain as they go, so that the reader gains a substantial and satisfying handhold on how and why and for whom hearing aids work. They examine the emotional difficulties (anger, frustration, denial) faced by all people with hearing loss, and the practical care of hearing aids -- standard to programmable, behind-the-ear to completely-in-the-canal. We've looked for years for a resource like this to add to our list of informational materials. When we found it, we added it instantly. A very likeable book. [Excerpted from Review in TINNITUS TODAY, Vol 23, No 2, June 1998, p.18]

Reviewer: Karl Strom, Editor-in-Chief, The Hearing Review, (Second Edition, 2004): excellent resource for anyone who has a hearing loss. In fact, this book should be handed out with every hearing aid dispensed. ...An excellent bridge for overcoming a serious disability that is frequently marginalized by our society

 Reviewer: Douglas L. Beck, Au.D., Editor/Publisher, and, (Second Edition, 2004): ...I was impressed with the content, style and ease with which complicated information is transferred to those with hearing loss and their loved ones. It is a pragmatic approach to improving your quality of life and getting results if you have hearing loss. Day-to-day issues are competently addressed in simple, non-technical language.

    The roster of contributors to this book includes some of the most distinguished practitioners in our profession. If you are new to hearing loss issues, hearing aids, or are an experienced hearing aid wearer, you'll find many valuable tips and tremendous guidance through the wealth of knowledge and experience offered by these contributors.

    I believe this book will be the single most important educational tool you will discover in your search for better hearing! Those with a desire to seek positive changes and improve their quality of life (and the lives of their loved ones) can do so with the proper tools.

    Between the covers of this book you'll find the inside story from the experts. They'll tell you how to maximize adjustment to hearing loss and how to most benefit from hearing aids. You'll learn who to consult, how to interpret your audiogram, and how to confront deep feelings about hearing loss. You'll read about technology breakthroughs and some challenges that must be endured. You'll be able to assess your level of readiness for help, and most importantly, what action you can take to dramatically improve your quality of life.

    If you're a senior, you have certain requirements that come with age which deserve the attention of patient healthcare professionals. You'll learn how to identify these needs so you can remain watchful over them.

    While this book could be read cover to cover, it is intended as a "handbook," from which you can pick and choose sections you find most beneficial to you. However you use this book, I think you will find it to be of extraordinary benefit.

    Congratulations to Dr. Carmen for this extraordinary accomplishment and congratulations to all of you seeking a better quality of life through knowledge and perseverance.

 Reviewer: David H. Kirkwood, Editor-in-Chief, The Hearing Journal:

 Today, more than ever, hearing aids can restore the ability of consumers to pursue the activities and lifestyles that they enjoyed before their hearing loss.  Yet, because of misunderstandings and misinformation, millions of hearing-impaired people continue to deny themselves the life-enhancing help that is available to them.

Fortunately for those people and for those who love them, this updated and revised second edition of The Consumer Handbook on Hearing Loss and Hearing Aids offers clear, straightforward, and practical guidance on how to prevent hearing loss from diminishing their quality of life.  Edited by Richard E Carmen, Au.D., with contributions from a host of other leading authorities in the field, this handbook is a valuable resource for hearing professionals to share with their patients.

The Consumer Handbook on Hearing Loss and Noise
Marshall Chasin, Au.D., Editor (2010)

Reviewer: Kathy Peck, Executive Director and Co-Founder, Hearing Education and Awareness for Rockers, San Francisco, CA: Excellent book! Gifted hearing professionals take you through a comprehensive guide on how noise can affect our hearing and the significance of their research. Wish every musician, sound engineer and music lover would get a copy! Loved it! 

The Consumer Handbook on Tinnitus
Richard S. Tyler, PhD, Editor (2008) Customer Reviews:

Reviewer: Don McFerran, MA, FRCS, Consultant ENT Surgeon, Colchester Hospital University NHS Foundation Trust, UK: (Excerpts) Dr Richard Tyler...invited an international panel of authors, who truly represent state of the art in the management of tinnitus, to supply chapters covering basic auditory science, the impact of tinnitus and treatment strategies. There is also a welcome chapter on the often overlooked topic of hyperacusis. The authors are a blend of audiologists, otologists, psychologists and scientists. Although no single treatment modality is recommended above others, the book has a fairly marked emphasis on psychological management.
    ...Although there is advice regarding measures to improve the condition this is a resource book rather than a conventional self help book. As such I would thoroughly recommend it as a worthwhile purchase for any of the patient self help and support groups. [It] is also a book that interested professionals could usefully read: although the book is written in language that a lay person can understand the breadth and depth of coverage makes it appropriate not only for those in primary care but also for otologists and audiologists. Currently priced in dollars at $32.95 it represents extremely good value for money.

Highly Recommended, December 4, 2009, Reviewer: Mnr Gsj Janzen Nieuwenhuizen "gysvn" (South Africa): If you are experiencing tinnitus, or know someone that does, then this book is highly recommended. It has been compiled by many well respected credible scientists all over the world that are recognised experts on tinnitus. The content is very comprehensive and well written in understandable consumer language. Every aspect of tinnitus is covered, and having viewed many books and ebooks, I can honestly say that I feel this book will certainly help a tinnitus sufferer more than anything else available at present.

    To the authors I can only say this, "Thank you for so freely sharing your valuable knowledge, and God Bless."

EXCERPT FROM ENT-News (trade journal, Scotland), Sept/Oct, Vol. 17, No.4., 2008: Dr. Tyler has invited an international panel of authors who truly represent state of the art in the management of tinnitus, to supply chapters covering basic auditory science, the impact of tinnitus and treatment strategies. The authors are a blend of audiologists, otologists, psychologists and scientists. The book undoubtedly delivers its aim of supplying detailed information about tinnitus and very successfully bridges the gap between medical textbooks and more conventional patient orientated publications. Although there is advice regarding measures to improve the condition, this is a resource book rather than a conventional self-help book. As such, I would thoroughly recommend it as a worthwhile purchase, it's good value for the money for any of the patient self-help and support groups. ...Although the book is written in language that a lay person can understand, the breadth and depth of coverage makes it appropriate not only for those in primary care but also for otologists and audiologists.

Doody Review Services (can be seen at

Reviewer: Martin J Audiffred, M.S.(Louisiana Department of Health & Hospitals)
Description: This handbook provides an excellent overview of the different components of tinnitus. Each chapter is written by an author with expertise in that particular topic in the field of tinnitus.
Purpose: In addition to information about the different components of tinnitus, this book also provides recommendations/references of where to retrieve more specific information.
Audience: Although designed for readers who have or are interested in tinnitus, the book would be beneficial for professionals who are managing people with tinnitus.
Features: The handbook is very complete in providing information on the possible causes of tinnitus, the anatomy of hearing, and different strategies to help patients manage tinnitus. One of the nice features of this handbook is that a number of the authors provide lists for the consumer to use to address certain aspects of tinnitus.
Assessment: Patients should find this handbook useful, but it would be even more useful if the professionals who are helping the patients have a copy, so they can provide guidance in using it. (can be seen at This comprehensive text delves into the world of tinnitus, discussing its possible causes, and explaining treatment options that may provide relief to sufferers. A great reference for healthcare professionals and a beneficial guide for those who know tinnitus first-hand.

Children with Hearing Loss-A Family Guide
David Luterman, D.Ed, Editor (2006)

Reviewer: Juli A. Ginn, Hearing Health Magazine, vol 22, no.3, p.48, 2006: A collaboration of top audiologists in the field has produced a new book that goes beyond the pamphlet mentality and brings tangible and comprehendible information to families with children suffering from hearing loss. Edited by David Luterman, D.Ed., professor emeritus at Emerson College in Boston and Director of the Thayer Lindsey Family Centered Nursery for Hearing Impaired Children, this simple five-chapter book develops into a well-indexed text that any family member or professional who works with a hard of hearing child should read.

    Two chapters, "Listening as a Gateway to Learning," and "What Parents Should Know: The Educational System," in themselves form an essential handbook for parents navigating the educational system. Both chapters also have appendices helpful in wading through technical concepts such as decibels, speech perception, poor acoustics, legalese and rights applicable to those with hearing aids.

    Besides being practical, Children with Hearing Loss-A Family Guide is touching. Contributors to the book's first two chapters describe, from the perspective of each family member, the agony, guilt and anger felt in each phase of raising a child with hearing loss.

    Highly recommended for parents new to life with hearing loss. Children with Hearing Loss-A Family Guide is invaluable not only as a guide, but also as a handy reference book the reader can go back to again and again.

The Consumer Handbook on Dizziness and Vertigo
Dennis Poe, MD, Editor (2005) Customer Reviews: "Dizziness for Dummies," June 9, 2008, by Twobird (White Plains, NY: An excellent overview of the problem of dizziness from which many people suffer, particularly the elderly. Each chapter is written by another physician, but the editor does a good job of tying all the chapters together. This seems like a very thorough introduction for the non-professional. The chapters also can be read as standalone coverage of their area.

January 10, 2007: Reviewer: J. Austin "Jane" (Washington, DC) Dizziness and vertigo can have a dramatic effect on your life. Doctors rarely have the time or inclination to address all your concerns as you deal with these problems. Dr. Poe's book was both helpful and reassuring.


The Consumer Handbook on Dizziness and Vertigo, comprehensive info on dizziness, November 11, 2007, Reviewer:  L. Antonazzo "rainyreads" (michigan): This handbook is a one of a kind book for those desiring information on dizziness and vertigo. Few books are available that have the expert opinions that this book offers. If you suffer yourself from dizziness and have done the route with doctors, tests, and remedies including medications and maybe even surgery and still have not gotten your answers, this book gives you another avenue to explore other aspects and possibilities to move forward with finding a cause and cure or at least a way to live with it (dizziness). Insightful chapters are presented by experts in the many fields that connect with dizziness and vertigo. A must read if your life is in any way affected with dizziness.

January 10, 2007, Reviewer: J. Austin "Jane" (Washington, DC): Dizziness and vertigo can have a dramatic effect on your life. Doctors rarely have the time or inclination to address all your concerns as you deal with these problems. Dr. Poe's book was both helpful and reassuring 

How Hearing Impacts Relationship-Motivating Your Loved One
Richard E. Carmen, Au.D.

 Reviewer: Lorraine Short, Editor-in-Chief, Hearing Health Magazine, 2005: Dr. Carmen took what I thought would be familiar territory and turned it into a real page turner. Combining a fast-paced narrative, quizzes and super salient research references, he presents a how-to manual for moving from (dare I say it?) "nagging" to "nurturing." He delivers on his upfront warning that the book is "direct and confrontational" but softens the challenge with humor and equal focus on the "loved one" with untreated hearing loss and his/her significant others. The result: true hope and help toward essential change for the entire family.

Richard E Carmen's new book offers extremely valuable insights for people with untreated hearing loss and their significant others, to be sure. But his manual for change has the potential to equip a much broader audience with improved communication skills. It should be required reading for all healthcare workers, therapists, educators, employers and employees alike ... well, everyone. He addresses all the issues and concerns we have heard countless times from our readers.

As I digested Carmen's words, a parade of my family members and friends came to mind, some with hearing loss and others who care very much about someone who needs hearing help. I'll be raving about the book to all of them, giving it my highest recommendation.

 Reviewer: Dr. Ian Colvin, Specialist Registrar in Audiological Medicine, St George's Hospital, London, published in ENT-News, Scotland, 2005: This short book is written for a particular target audience: the husband/wife/partner of a person who has a significant hearing loss, but is reluctant to seek or accept help for this problem. Those of us who work in adult Audiology will know that this is a common problem, and it can lead to a significant strain in family relationships.

    There are a number of good points about this book. The first chapter includes a practical description of the type of hearing tactics that the family can use to help to communicate with the hearing impaired person (e.g., talk face-to-face if possible). The second chapter discusses the negative effects of co-dependence and provides the reader with advice about how to stop being the 'other person's ears.' Rejection of any type of medical help can be related to concomitant psychiatric conditions such as anxiety or depression. These types of conditions are discussed in the third chapter and the reader is advised to seek appropriate help for their spouse or partner if they suspect such a diagnosis. The final chapter includes a good evidence-based discussion about the reasons why people reject the idea of hearing aids. . .

    Would I recommend this book to a suffering spouse/partner? The answer is yes . .

Web Design by: Affordable Web Design